Call of the Wild

 

They have cradled you in custom,
they have primed you with their preaching,
They have soaked you in convention through and through;
They have put you in a showcase; you’re a credit to their teaching —
But can’t you hear the Wild? — It’s calling you.
Let us probe the silent places, let us seek what luck betide us;
Let us journey to a lonely land I know.
There’s a whisper on the night-wind,
there’s a star agleam to guide us,
And the Wild is calling, calling. . .let us go.
-Robert W. Service “Call of the Wild”

Hi friends!!

While in college I never really knew what I wanted to do with my life. Once I graduated I was expecting to have a big epiphany and figure out my calling in life. And I did have an epiphany! Just not the one I wanted. Once I graduated I realized that I am now confident that I have no idea what I want to do with my life. So after graduating in December from UW-Eau Claire with a Bachelors degree in Social Work, I have been trying to decide what to do as I enter the infamous real world. Look for a job? Move and start my career?? Go to grad school???

However these super fun options lack the big adventure I am craving. None of these will mentally and physically challenge me in the way that I want. They aren’t very risky, I want learn a lot more about myself and what I am capable of. So I have decided that my best option is this: Put off the real world just a little longer (my parents are so proud!)! And I am going to do this by…….

Thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail! 

Hiking the AT has been a far fetched dream of mine for a few years, but now that dream can finally become a reality! I’m graduated, no real job, and have ample amounts of free time- what better to do than hike for 6 months?! I will be starting my hike around April 1st, on Springer Mountain, Georgia and will complete (fingers crossed!) the trail around September on Mount Katahdin, Maine.

I will use this blog to update anyone who is interested about my adventures leading up to the AT (like laying down in the aisle of the camping section at Cabellas for 4 hours) and my adventures (and challenges) on the Trail itself. I also wanted to start this blog to hold myself accountable and hopefully gain some support and encouragement from my friends and family here back home 🙂

My next few posts will be more about what exactly the Appalachian Trail is, a better understanding of why I am hiking it, and what I am doing to prepare for it. Then once I hit the Trail, I will update it as often as I can. If you are interested in following me on my adventure (or just interested to see if I survive) you should keep checking this out!

Thats all for now!

Peace like a river.

Leave a Reply

