Jason Derulo and THE LISTS

So we can all agree that the goal of consistently updating you on all of my feels and thoughts on everything AT has failed. Here’s to hopin the goal of thru-hiking goes a liiiitle better. Hey-oh!

I apologize for my absence, but I feel like I’ve done you little kittens a favor. I have saved you your precious time! Rather than reading hours of boring updates I can give you the sparknotes version of my life so far. You’re welcome 😀

Mandatory sweater wearing, packer fan, too cute for words kitten.

Mandatory sweater wearing, packer fan, too cute for words kitten.

1.) Flight booked. I leave Monday April 1st for Atlanta. Hiker shuttle to Amicalola Falls State Park. Sleep.  Start hiking the Approach Trail to Springer Mountain and to the start of the Appalachian Trail bright and early on the 2nd of April. Boom City Golden! If any of you are interested this is a great read on the history of Springer Mountain.

2.) Gear packed. It’s been chaotic. And I got a little DIY-y and it worked! For those of you interested I will very  soon post my gear list and pack weight on here!

3.) Goodbyes are poopy, but my friends and family are amazing and so supportive and motivating! ❤


Boom. Now that we got that outta the way. Let’s talk about my thoughts on my decision to solo thru-hike. Cue Jason Derulo and my theme song for my hike.

In regards to me hiking by myself, Jason is right (let’s be real. He’s buddies with 2 Chains. He’s always got it right!)  Just listen to these lyrics:

I’m feelin’ like a star, you can’t stop my shine
I’m lovin’ cloud nine, my head’s in the sky
I’m solo, I’m hikin’ solo
I’m hikin’ solo, I’m hikin’ solo, solo

And that motivation for when the weather sucks:

Told me get my shit together
Now I got my shit together, yeah
Now I made it through the weather
Better days are gonna get better

Jason it’s like you wrote this song for me!!

But the Jasonmiester aside, I am really stoked to go on this adventure alone. Yes, I will meet amazing people and make amazing friends, but one of the main purposes of this hike is to get a better understanding of myself. To push myself. To challenge and motivate and to grow with myself. I want to be a better person because of me. I am extremely selfish like that and I am ok with it. Relaying on only myself on the AT is terrifying exhilarating and will help my grow more into the person I want to become. I am hiking for me.

But no worries! I am certified in the highest levels of Jiu Jitsu and will be carrying jugs of pepper spray to ward off anyone or anything that gets in my way. BAB.


Finally. One of the many books I read in preparation for hiking the AT is called, Appalachian Trials by Zach Davis. It was sent from the hiking gods and goddesses! Zach is seriously amazing (and hilarious) and has started a website that has also taken over my life in the best way possible. Even if you are not hiking, it has great blogs and articles by crazy great people hiking the AT, please check it out!

I would be nothing without you, Zach!

I would be nothing without you, Zach!

Zach’s book is all about the mental preparation and challenges of the AT. Although other trails have higher difficulty levels, the AT is known to challenge mind more than any other trail. No lie. So Zach recommends bringing 3 Lists with you. Whip them out when times are tough, weather is dumpy, and you want to quit. These Lists are vital and can give someone the motivation they need to continue. After procrastinating (who, me?!) I have made my lists and want to put them on here! They are kind of long. #sorryimnotsorry. So drum rooooolllllllllllllll………

“I am thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail because…”

  • There is no better time than now to hike
  • I have been dreaming of this trail for 4 years
  • I want to challenge myself mentally and physically and prove to myself I am able to set a goal and achieve it
  • I want to live simply and immerse myself in natures beauty
  • I want to learn more about myself, my strengths, weaknesses, and where I want to take my life
  • To become more confident in my capabilities and myself. If I can do this- what can’t I do?
  • I want to feel great about my body and myself  and appreciate what my body can do everyday. I no longer want to be defined by appearance, but by capabilities
  • I’m craving adventure!
  • I want to create lifelong memories and friendships. This is an experience of a lifetime
  • Bragging rights, obvi
  • I want to find love and happiness in myself, others, and nature
  • I want to be independent and rely only on myself
  • I am a strong women who wants to be stronger
  • To make my fam proud!
  • I don’t want to regret not trying
  • What else am I going to do? Get a job?! Scoff.

“When I successfully thru-hike the Appalachian Trail I will…”

  • Be THE WOMAN! WOOT!
  • Be proud of myself! And allow myself to be proud!
  • Tell everyone and their mother
  • Never say ‘I can’t do that’
  • Have great calves
  • Have completed and followed through with a goal and dream
  • Proven those naysayers and doubters wrong. Suck it!
  • Be a stronger person and have a better understanding of where my path in life is going
  • Join the elite ranks of being a thru-hiker!
  • Know that I have what it takes to set a goal and achieve it
  • Start thinking about the PCT (too soon??)
  • Have lived and adventured! What’s next? This is a stepping stone to the next big thing!

“If I give up on the Appalachian Trail I will…”

  • Be disappointed in myself
  • Have to tell everyone I gave up and be faced with embarrassment and endless humiliation
  • Feel like a failure
  • Have to find a job. Or live out of a cardboard box. Or both.
  • Live with regret
  • Hate the world. And hate raindrops on roses, whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
  • Not have a better understanding of myself and will not have grown like I wanted. I will have shrunk!
  • Always wonder ‘what if?’

 

Thank for reading! I super ultra promise another post real soon! Don’t hesitate to ask questions or comment and all that good shtuff!

Peace like a river.

4 thoughts on “Jason Derulo and THE LISTS

Leave a Reply

